Are we listening to our bodies??

One may think I’m joking here or may be that I’m crazy!! Why should one listen to one’s body n is it even required or possible?
It is very much possible to be out of sync with one’s body or be completely in sync with it..

A sign that you’re in sync with your body is when ….. Oh wait!! Lets see if I can personify this a bit..

What are signs that you are out of sync with a friend? You can’t relate to what the friend says, may be you don’t like that friend’s company, may be that friend doesn’t appreciate you, criticises you for no good reason, right??

  
Now the signs of a great friendship are when you enjoy the other’s company, don’t mind criticism knowing that the intention is good, love the person for whoever he/ she is…

Similarly signs that we are in sync with our bodies is when we like our bodies, the way they exist! We love being in our body, we appreciate the pluses that our body offers us..

Our bodies communicate with us just like any other person, simply the mode of communication differs. And we can listen to our bodies better when we are prepared to listen to it. A simple step to listen to our body is ask our body what it needs?? Our bodies are tired of communicating (attempting to communicate) with us cuz we aren’t listening..

The head ache or the back ache or that rise in sugar levels: all are our bodies attempts to communicate..
May be we need exercise or some fresh air or maybe our water intake is low.. Our bodies are created to auto pilot n work by themselves. They are so beautifully created!! But there are times when they just can’t do any more without our help and that’s when that weight gain, skin problems, head aches,muscle pains appear.

I have grown up believing that my stomach and skin are my problem areas!! Why?? Cuz they are for Virgos it seems.. Imagine years and years of telling my body that my stomach and skin aren’t functioning well! Result: sensitive skin and sensitive stomach..

One of my Ayurvedic doctor had once told me that our body sorts out all its problems on its own. And when it can’t it slowly shows up, and showing up on the skin as a skin problem is the worst case cuz the skin is the outermost layer of our body.

Meaning its a SOS from our body to start listening to it!! And sometimes all it needs is love. It wants to hear that it’s okay to be fat, lazy, slow, sensitive, whatever that our body is at that moment.. All it needs to know is that it is loved for who it is πŸ™‚

I lost a lot of weight few months back, simply by being okay with the fact that ‘its okay to put on more weight’. So as soon as I accepted my body for its extra weight it actually let it go πŸ™‚

My skin is much better than it used to be years ago!
I’m not someone who has mastered communicating with my body but I must say that I have improved over time.

Our body is our friend, a friend we love!! A friend we accept for whoever it is! A friend who loves us!!
So let us love it back.. It needs our love and acceptance more than anyone else πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

