Ready to dump those NY resolutions???

I always wonder why the threshold of a year is so milestone-yyy? Whats such a big deal about it?
I’ve heard people say that whoever said ‘it isn’t always about winning’ probably was a loser!!! And I’ve hated that sentiment..
And I think that sentiment applies even with resolutions..

People may say, not making resolutions is like not moving forward or like stagnating, or being too content with mediocre…
Do you think so too?

Why do we make new year resolutions?? Or may be I should ask what are our resolutions??
Losing weight, bagging that xyz job, making more money, spending more quality time at home???? What are your top few on the NYR list??

Especially being a Coach, I’ve heard other fellow coaches talking about how we can help our clients move forward. And i feel may be its time to pause and be, rather than run ahead of ourselves..

  
I’m not saying those resolutions are crap or that we can’t get there. I’m not saying its horrible to move forward. Or it’s stupid to dream big. NOOOOO!!!

But do we know our intentions behind the dreams?? Or intentions behind those new year resolutions??
If the intention is to move to a more beautiful place, great!!! But generally our intentions are to move out of this (crappy) place and go somewhere beautiful..

The base or core of this intention is loudly shouting out ‘I’m not happy with myself’
What if we gave up the thought of changing?? As in I’m not referring to being ‘anti- change’ but being more comfortable with what’s around us?? Being comfortable being in this body, living this life.. Loving it!!

So a resolution like ‘get a higher paying job’ could be transformed into ‘ offering gratitude for whatever I have’
A resolution like ‘lose 5 kgs’ could be transformed into ‘love myself for being so beautiful – whatever my weight’ ( believe me, in doing so we attract beauty)

A resolution like ‘resolve issues with my spouse/ parents/siblings’ could be transformed into ‘ be more patient and accepting of others’

Bringing about a change is tough!! Not impossible but tough.. And what if we looked at change differently??
Instead of changing ourselves, how about we change the way we look at ourselves??

Why not dump all resolutions and have just one- love myself and be grateful for this life???

And if bringing about a change in ourselves is tough, imagine all our resolutions which involve changing other people- they’re gonna be a big mess…wanting my spouse to be more patient/ responsible/xyz….is gonna be a big mess!! How about letting them be..

And we can let them be only when we ourselves can let us be..
So no new year resolutions for me!! I’m gonna love myself, appreciate how I’m so perfect with all my imperfections, and let others be imperfect too..

It’s easier said than done but this resolution sounds more fruitful than any other..
Making gratitude lists has improved my way of looking at things and now I feel ( though I can’t stop attempting to change people around me) its easier to let others be than expect them to change!! And this feeling can get reinforced only when I feel the same for myself..

So if I can’t do things that I should’ve done, it’s a perfect world!! I’ll accept the consequences that follow without making life tough and guilt filled..

So what say? Ready to dump your NY Resolutions????

Leave a Reply

